Dear ATLAS User,

This is the third message regarding the ATLAS workshop of August 8-9, 2009.  Information regarding the workshop, including previous announcements can be found at: https://www.phy.anl.gov/atlas/workshop09/index.html

IF YOU HAVE NOT REGISTERED YET, PLEASE TAKE A MOMENT TO DO IT NOW.

THIS MESSAGE CONCERNS MOSTLY YOUR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE DISCUSSION SESSIONS. IMPORTANT INFORMATION IS INCLUDED.

As can be seen from the agenda posted on the web, the better part of the afternoon and evening of August 8 are devoted to discussions centered around the future of the ATLAS facility. As the agenda states, the following specific questions will be addressed:

What are the most important physics questions that you plan to study at ATLAS over the next five years?

 

How do these questions relate to the ATLAS Strategic Plan & the ATLAS efficiency and intensity upgrade plans? For further information see: https://www.phy.anl.gov/atlas/workshop09/ATLAS_upgrade.html

 

How do these questions relate to the national priorities as expressed in (1) the 2007 NSAC Long Range Plan and, (2) the DOE-OMB performance measures?

 

What other developments in accelerator capabilities and instrumentation do you envision as being needed to optimize your research program at the facility? Consider options included in the current plans and new possibilities.

 

Did you identify other important issues that the Executive Committee of the ATLAS User Group and the ATLAS management should make a priority for the facility?

As the agenda shows, the two discussion sessions have been divided into one that will discuss the science (nuclear structure, nuclear reactions and  nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions) and the other that will address the required instrumentation on the same three topics. We invite every participant to the meeting to prepare a short (3-5 slides) presentation to address the questions above from his own prospective. To help you preparing your contributions, relevant information can be found on the workshop website such as a description of the ATLAS upgrade plans and current experimental equipment, as well as information on beam intensities and energies (stable beams, CARIBU beams and other radioactive beams). Questions regarding this information can be directed to S. Zhu (zhu@phy.anl.gov).

Each of the discussion sessions have co-conveners assigned to it. We invite you to contact them with the title of your contribution so that the sessions and discussions can be organized in the most effective way.

Here are the e-mail addresses of the co-conveners:

A. Science:

    Nuclear Structure:

        Daryl Hartley: hartley@usna.edu

        Paul Fallon: pfallon@lbl.gov

        Mike Carpenter: carpenter@phy.anl.gov

    Nuclear Reactions and Nuclear Astrophysics:

        Alan Wuosmaa: alan.wuosmaa@wmich.edu

        Ernst Rehm: rehm@phy.anl.gov

    Fundamental Interactions:

        Jason Clark: jclark@phy.anl.gov

        Peter Mueller: pmueller@anl.gov

B. Instrumentation:

    Nuclear Structure:

        Walter Reviol: reviol@wustl.edu

        Phil Woods: pjw@ph.ed.ac.uk

        Darek Seweryniak: seweryniak@anl.gov

    Nuclear Reactions and Nuclear Astrophysics:

        Ingo Wiedenhoever: iwiedenhover@physics.fsu.edu

        Birger Back: back@anl.gov

    Fundamental Interactions:

        Nick Scielzo: scielzo1@llnl.gov

        Guy Savard: savard@phy.anl.gov

PLEASE CONTACT THE CONVERNERS SOON AS TIME IS QUITE SHORT.

Thank you for you attention to these important matters.

Walt Loveland
Oregon State University
Chair of the Executive Committee of the ATLAS user group

 

Robert V. F. Janssens
Scientific Director of ATLAS