Announcement of the Exotic Beam Summer School 2017,
to be held at the Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory, during July 23 - July 29, 2017

The 2017 Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS) will be held at the Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory, from Sunday July 23 through Saturday July 29, 2017. Please pass on this announcement to interested students and young researchers. As in previous years, the number of attendees will be limited to around 40-45 participants who will be selected from the pool of applicants. The school is intended for graduate students, but senior undergraduates and junior postdoctoral researchers will also be considered.

This will be the sixteenth in the series of annual summer schools devoted to the exciting developments in the study of exotic nuclei. The school is jointly organized by ANL, LBNL, LLNL, NSCL/MSU, ORNL and ARUNA. Development of the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) continues apace and FRIB, along with other existing and planned exotic beam facilities around the world, will present wonderful opportunities for future discoveries and technical innovations. The school is intended to introduce students and young researchers to the various facets of the science of exotic nuclei including nuclear structure, nuclear reactions, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions, and the application of nuclear science and technology in the modern world.

The format of the school is unique: in the mornings, students will participate in lectures by leading researchers in the various fields of nuclear physics. In the afternoons, there will be hands-on activities, geared towards introducing fundamental techniques and methods in the production, detection, and investigation of exotic nuclei. The ATLAS facility will provide an excellent opportunity for hands-on experience to the school participants.

More details will be available at The call for applications will be made soon.

EBSS Board of Directors:

Jacklyn Gates (LBNL)
Hiro Iwasaki (NSCL/MSU)
Krzysztof Rykaczewski (ORNL)
Dariusz Seweryniak (ANL) - local organizer of EBSS2017
Mark Stoyer (LLNL)
Ingo Wiedenhoever (FSU/ARUNA)