Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2018-2019 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

14 Sep 2018 Jose Repond, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
The Electron-Ion Collider with a personal twist
Host: Zein-Eddine Meziani
21 Sep 2018 Reinhard Schulte, Loma Linda University
The Future of Ion Therapy: Stepping out of the Shadow of Photon Therapy with New Forms of Imaging and Motion Management
Host: Matthew Gott
8 Oct 2018
Monday
Takaharu Otsuka, The University of Tokyo
Quantum phase transitions and self-organization in atomic nuclei, and the role of the tensor force
Host: Dariusz Seweryniak
16 Oct 2018
Tuesday
Room R-150
Jean Dalibard, Collège de France, École normale supérieure
Exploring Flatland with cold atoms
Host: Peter Mueller
26 Oct 2018 2018 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Hilton Waikoloa Village, Hawaii Island, 23-27 October
2 Nov 2018 George Crabtree, JCESR, Argonne National Laboratory
Where is Energy Storage Going?
Host: Ernst Rehm
9 Nov 2018 Francis Halzen, Univeristy of Wisconsin-Madison
IceCube: Opening a New Window on the Universe from the South Pole
Host: Ernst Rehm
16 Nov 2018 Dmitri Kharzeev, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Chiral matter: from quarks to quantum materials
Host: Ian Cloët
23 Nov 2018 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
30 Nov 2018 Daniel E. Holz, University of Chicago
Hearing and Seeing a Binary Neutron Star Merger
Host: Jake Zappala
13 Dec 2018
Thursday
Physics Division Holiday Party -
Host: John Arrington
21 Dec 2018 Christmas - No colloquium
28 Dec 2018 New Year's - No colloquium
4 Jan 2019
11 Jan 2019 Brian Odom, Northwestern University
TBA
Host: Jake Zappala
18 Jan 2019 Anna Grassellino, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
SRF Technology as enabling tool from accelerators to quantum computing
Host: Mike Kelly
25 Jan 2019 Ania Kwiatkowski, TRIUMF
TBA
Host: Sereres Johnston
1 Feb 2019 Gordon Jones, Hamilton College
TBA
Host: Jake Zappala
8 Feb 2019 Jonathan Engle, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Low Energy Radionuclide Production for Medical Applications
Host: Matthew Gott
15 Feb 2019 Stuart Henderson, Jefferson Lab
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
22 Feb 2019
1 Mar 2019 Scott Aaronson, University of Texas at Austin
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
8 Mar 2019
15 Mar 2019 Hannes Bernien, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Jake Zappala
22 Mar 2019 Katherine Freese, University of Michigan
TBA
Host: Sereres Johnston
29 Mar 2019 Daniel McKinsey, University of California, Berkeley
TBA
Host: Ernst Rehm
5 Apr 2019 Jorge Piekarewicz, Florida State University
TBA
Host: Darek Seweryniak
12 Apr 2019 American Physical Society April Meeting 2019
Denver, CO 13-16 April
19 Apr 2019 Greg Severin, Michigan State University
TBA
Host: Matthew Gott
26 Apr 2019 Nora Berrah, University of Connecticut
TBA
Host: Zein-Eddine Meziani
3 May 2019
10 May 2019 Martha Constantinou, Temple University
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
17 May 2019 Reserved
24 May 2019

Click here for 2017-2018 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2018-2019 Committee


John Anderson (252-6081, jta@anl.gov mail)
Whitney Armstrong (252-5112, warmstrong@anl.gov mail)
Ian Cloët (Past Chair) (252-4093, icloet@anl.gov mail)
Hal Finkel (CELS/LCF) (252-0023, hfinkel@anl.gov mail)
Matthew Gott (252-3612, mgott@anl.gov mail)
Michael Kelly (252-4039, mkelly@anl.gov mail)
Zein-Eddine Meziani (Chair) (252-5226, zmeziani@anl.gov mail)
Ernst Rehm (252-4073, rehm@anl.gov mail)
Dariusz Seweryniak (252-1514, seweryniak@anl.gov mail)
Kenneth Teh (252-3073, teh@anl.gov mail)
Jake Zappala (252-2929, jzappala@anl.gov mail)
Coordinator Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630
Schedule Maker