Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2017-2018 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

8 Sep 2017 Michelle Dolinski, Drexel University
Current and future searches for neutrinoless double beta decay
Host: Sereres Johnston
15 Sep 2017 Joint Physics and Materials Science Colloquium
J. C. Séamus Davis, Cornell University & Brookhaven National Laboratory
Visualizing Quantum Matter
Host: Wai-Kwong Kwok
22 Sep 2017 Dale van Harlingen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
S-TI-S Josephson junction networks: a platform for exploring and exploiting topological states and Majorana fermions
Host: Wai-Kwong Kwok
29 Sep 2017 Mark G. Alford, Washington University
Transport and dissipation in neutron star mergers
Host: Robert Wiringa
6 Oct 2017 Curtis A. Meyer, Carnegie Mellon University
The Search for Gluonic Excitations
Host: Seamus Riordan
13 Oct 2017 Andrew Cleland, The University of Chicago
Quantum information in superconducting and nanomechanical systems
Host: Wai-Kwong Kwok
20 Oct 2017 Paul Steinhardt, Princeton University
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
Thursday
26 Oct 2017
John C. Mather, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
TBA
Host: Seamus Riordan
27 Oct 2017 2017 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Pittsburgh, PA, 25-28 Oct
3 Nov 2017 Joint Physics and High-Energy Physics Colloquium
Chris Quigg, Fermilab
Fermilab’s Greatest Hits: Scientific Highlights from the First Fifty Years
Host: Seamus Riordan
10 Nov 2017 David Hertzog, University of Washington
TBA
Host: Seamus Riordan
Thursday
16 Nov 2017
Arthur B. McDonald, Queen's University
The Science of SNO and SNOLAB
Host: Seamus Riordan
24 Nov 2017 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
1 Dec 2017 Sergei Nagaitsev, Fermilab & The University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Zack Conway
8 Dec 2017 Berndt Mueller, Brookhaven National Laboratory
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
15 Dec 2017
Physics Division Holiday Party - No colloquium
22 Dec 2017 Christmas - No colloquium
29 Dec 2017 New Year's - No colloquium
5 Jan 2018 Matthew Dietrich, Physics Division, Argonne National Lab
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
12 Jan 2018 Jun Ye, JILA, NIST & University of Colorado
TBA
Host: Michael Bishof
19 Jan 2018 Jeroen van Tilborg, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
TBA
Host: Zach Conway
26 Jan 2018 Chris J. Benmore, Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Lab
The structure of nuclear materials at high temperatures
Host: Filip Kondev
2 Feb 2018 Rebecca Surman, University of Notre Dame
TBA
Host: Filip Kondev
9 Feb 2018 Rouven Essig, Stony Brook University
TBA
Host: Seamus Riordan
16 Feb 2018 Witek Nazarewicz, Michigan State University
TBA
Host: Robert Wiringa
23 Feb 2018 Christian Forssen, Chalmers University of Technology
Theoretical uncertainties in ab initio nuclear physics
Host: Daniel Santiago-Gonzalez
2 Mar 2018 Scott Aaronson, The University of Texas at Austin
TBA
Host: Salman Habib
9 Mar 2018
16 Mar 2018 Thomas Glasmacher, Michigan State University
FRIB Update
Host: Torben Lauritsen
23 Mar 2018 Maryellen L. Giger, The University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Salman Habib
30 Mar 2018 Katherine Freese, University of Michigan
TBA
Host: Sereres Johnston
6 Apr 2018
13 Apr 2018 American Physical Society April Meeting 2018
Columbus, OH 14-17 Apr
20 Apr 2018
27 Apr 2018
4 May 2018
11 May 2018
18 May 2018 Laura Newburgh, Yale University
TBA
Host: Salman Habib
25 May 2018 Neil F. Johnson, University of Miami
New Threats Reveal New Physics
Host: Torben Lauritsen

Click here for 2016-2017 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2017-2018 Committee


Michael Bishof (252-5008, bishof@anl.gov mail)
Ian Cloët (Chair) (252-4093, icloet@anl.gov mail)
Zachary Conway (252-0874, zconway@phy.anl.gov mail)
Salman Habib (HEP) (252-1110 habib@anl.gov mail)
Sereres Johnston (sjohnston@anl.gov mail)
Filip Kondev (NE) (252-4877, kondev@anl.gov mail)
Wai-Kwong Kwok (MSD) (252-5539, wkwok@anl.gov mail)
Torben Lauritsen (252-4026, torben@anl.gov mail)
David Potterveld (252-6589, potterveld@anl.gov mail)
Seamus Riordan (252-4101, sriordan@anl.gov mail)
Daniel Santiago-Gonzalez (252-6870, dasago@anl.gov mail)
Coordinator Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630