Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2017-2018 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

8 Sep 2017
15 Sep 2017 Joint Physics and Materials Science Colloquium
J. C. Seamus Davis, Cornell University & Brookhaven National Laboratory
Visualizing Quantum Matter
Host: Wai-Kwong Kwok
22 Sep 2017 Dale van Harlingen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
TBA
Host: Wai-Kwong Kwok
29 Sep 2017 Mark G. Alford, Washington University
TBA
Host: Robert Wiringa
6 Oct 2017 Curtis A. Meyer, Carnegie Mellon University
TBA
Host: Seamus Riordan
13 Oct 2017 Andrew Cleland, University of Chicago
Quantum information in superconducting and nanomechanical systems
Host: Wai-Kwong Kwok
20 Oct 2017 Paul Steinhardt, Princeton University
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
Thursday
26 Oct 2017
John C. Mather, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
TBA
Host: Seamus Riordan
27 Oct 2017 2017 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Pittsburgh, PA, 25-28 Oct
3 Nov 2017 TBD, Fermilab
Fermilab 50th Anniversary
Host: Seamus Riordan
10 Nov 2017 David Hertzog, University of Washington
TBA
Host: Seamus Riordan
17 Nov 2017 reserved
24 Nov 2017 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
1 Dec 2017 Sergei Nagaitsev, Fermilab & University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Zack Conway
8 Dec 2017 Berndt Mueller, Brookhaven National Laboratory
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
15 Dec 2017
Physics Division Holiday Party - No colloquium
22 Dec 2017 Christmas - No colloquium
29 Dec 2017 New Year's - No colloquium
5 Jan 2018
12 Jan 2018 Jun Ye, JILA, NIST & University of Colorado
TBA
Host: Michael Bishof
19 Jan 2018
26 Jan 2018
2 Feb 2018
9 Feb 2018
16 Feb 2018
23 Feb 2018
2 Mar 2018
9 Mar 2018
16 Mar 2018 Thomas Glasmacher, Michigan State University
FRIB Update
Host: Torben Lauritsen
23 Mar 2018
30 Mar 2018 Katherine Freese, University of Michigan
TBA
Host: Sereres Johnston
6 Apr 2018
13 Apr 2018 American Physical Society April Meeting 2018
Columbus, OH 14-17 Apr
20 Apr 2018
27 Apr 2018
4 May 2018
11 May 2018
18 May 2018
25 May 2018

Click here for 2016-2017 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2017-2018 Committee


Michael Bishof (252-5008, bishof@anl.gov mail)
Ian Cloët (Chair) (252-4093, icloet@anl.gov mail)
Zachary Conway (252-0874, zconway@phy.anl.gov mail)
Salman Habib (HEP) (252-1110 habib@anl.gov mail)
Sereres Johnston (sjohnston@anl.gov mail)
Filip Kondev (NE) (252-4877, kondev@anl.gov mail)
Wai-Kwong Kwok (MSD) (252-5539, wkwok@anl.gov mail)
Torben Lauritsen (252-4026, torben@anl.gov mail)
David Potterveld (252-6589, potterveld@anl.gov mail)
Seamus Riordan (252-4101, sriordan@anl.gov mail)
Daniel Santiago-Gonzalez (252-6870, dasago@anl.gov mail)
Coordinator Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630