Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2014-2015 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

5 Sep 2014 Ulrich Heinz, Ohio State University
The Little Bang Standard Model
Host: Walter Henning
12 Sep 2014 Mark Snir, Mathematics and Computer Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
High-Performance Computing: Exascale and Beyond
Host: Alessandro Lovato
19 Sep 2014 Alexander Zholents, Accelerator Systems Division, Argonne National Laboratory
A Light and a Beam: a Theme with Variations
Host: Jerry Nolen
26 Sep 2014 Nuclear Physics Symposium: Exploring the Heart of Matter
Chicago, Illinois, 26-27 Sep
3 Oct 2014 José Francisco Salgado, KV 265 "Science through Art" and the Adler Planetarium
Science, Symphony, and the Northern Lights
Host: Jerry Nolen
10 Oct 2014 Joint Meeting of the Nuclear Physics Divisions of the APS and the PSJ
Waikoloa, Hawaii, 7-11 Oct
17 Oct 2014 Mark A. Berhow, Agricultural Research Service, USDA, Peoria, Illinois
Missiles in Chicago’s Backyards: The US Army Nike Missile Defense System of 1950-1975
Host: Bob Wiringa
24 Oct 2014 Sanjay Reddy, Institute for Nuclear Theory, University of Washington
Neutron Stars in the Multi-Messenger Era: Extreme Matter and Extreme Phenomena
Host: Alessandro Lovato
31 Oct 2014 Halloween - Trick or Treat!
7 Nov 2014 Hasan Padamsee, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
The Golden Age of Superconducting RF Based Accelerators
Host: Michael Kelly
14 Nov 2014 K. Ernst Rehm, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Studies of X-ray Bursts – Bringing Neutron Stars into the Laboratory
Host: Jerry Nolen
21 Nov 2014 Margaret Murnane, JILA, National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado
Science at the Timescale of the Electron: Tabletop X-ray Lasers and Applications in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Host: Kawtar Hafidi
28 Nov 2014 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
5 Dec 2014 Stuart Henderson, Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory
Advanced Photon Source Upgrade Status and Plans
Host: Walter Henning
12 Dec 2014 George W. Crabtree, Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), Argonne National Laboratory
The Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR): One Year Later
Host: Jerry Nolen
19 Dec 2014
Kate Scholberg, Duke University
Neutrinos from the Sky and Through the Earth
Host: Zelimir Djurcic
26 Dec 2014 Christmas - No colloquium
2 Jan 2015 New Year's - No colloquium
9 Jan 2015 Clarence Chang , U. Chicago
Title to be announced
Host: Zelimir Djurcic
16 Jan 2015 André de Gouvêa, Northwestern University
Experimental constraints and theoretical issues for physics beyond the Standard Model
Host: Roy Holt
23 Jan 2015 Jacob L. Bean, University of Chicago
Exoplanets in HD
Host: Jerry Nolen
30 Jan 2015 James A. Sauls, Northwestern University
Unconventional Superconductors
Host: Ivar Martin
6 Feb 2015 Keith Schwab, Caltech
Title to be announced
Host: Ivar Martin
13 Feb 2015
20 Feb 2015
27 Feb 2015 Bathsheba Grossman, Bathsheba Sculpture
Title to be announced
Host: Bob Wiringa
6 Mar 2015
13 Mar 2015
20 Mar 2015
27 Mar 2015 Robert Wiringa, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Twenty Years with the Argonne v18 NN Potential
Host: Steve Pieper
3 Apr 2015
10 Apr 2015 April Meeting of the APS, Baltimore, Maryland, 11-14 Apr
17 Apr 2015 Hiro Sakurai, RIKEN Nishina Center for Accelerator-Based Science
Physics of Exotic Nuclei at RIBF
Host: Jerry Nolen
24 Apr 2015
1 May 2015
8 May 2015 Alessandro Lovato, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Electroweak Response of Nuclei
Host: Bob Wiringa
15 May 2015 Ana Maria Rey, JILA, National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado
Ultracold Atoms and Molecules Loaded in Optical Lattices
Host: Ivar Martin
22 May 2015 21st International IUPAP Conference on Few-Body Problems in Physics, Chicago, Illinois, 18-22 May

Click here for 2013-2014 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2014-2015 Committee


Helena David (252-3890, hdavid@anl.gov mail)
Clayton Dickerson (252-4136, cdickerson@phy.anl.gov mail)
Zelimir Djurcic (HEP) (252-7549, zdjurcic@anl.gov mail)
Walter Henning (252-8501, wfhenning@anl.gov mail)
Calem Hoffman (252-4053, crhoffman@phy.anl.gov mail)
Roy Holt (252-4101, holt@anl.gov mail)
Michael Kelly (252-4039, mkelly@anl.gov mail)
Alessandro Lovato (252-8264, lovato@anl.gov mail)
Ivar Martin (MSD) (252-7777, ivar@anl.gov mail)
Jerry Nolen (Chair) (252-6418, nolen@anl.gov mail)
Robert Wiringa (Past chair) (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Secretary Janet Bergman (252-4085, jbergman@anl.gov mail)
Secretary Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630