Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2016-2017 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

9 Sep 2016 Philip W. Phillips, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Do the Cuprate Superconductors have Extra Dimensions?
Host: Zack Conway
16 Sep 2016 Rebecca Flint, Iowa State University
Hybridization with a twist: the hidden order problem
Host: Zack Conway
23 Sep 2016 Jonathan Wurtele, University of California, Berkeley
Trapping and Probing Antihydrogen Atoms
Host: Richard Pardo
30 Sep 2016 Francesco Iachello, Yale University
Cluster Structure of Light Nuclei
Host: Richard Chasman
7 Oct 2016 John F. Beacom, The Ohio State University
Unlocking Nuclear Astrophysics With MeV Neutrino Astronomy
Host: Alessandro Lovato
14 Oct 2016 2016 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Vancouver, British Columbia, CANADA, 12-15 Oct
21 Oct 2016 Walter Kutschera, University of Vienna, Austria
The waxing and waning of Alpine glaciers throughout the Holocene
Host: John Schiffer
28 Oct 2016 Richard J. Hill, Perimeter Institute
The proton radius puzzle and its impact on fundamental physics
Host: Alessandro Lovato
4 Nov 2016 Libby McCutchan, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Following Fission Fragments: Nuclear Data for Neutrino Physics
Host: Shaofei Zhu
11 Nov 2016 Peter M. Weber, Brown University
Observing Ultrafast Molecular Structural Motions – i.e. Chemistry - by X-Ray Scattering and Structural Spectroscopy
Host: Richard Pardo
18 Nov 2016 John M. Carpenter, APS Engineering Support Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Accelerator-based neutron sources: Past, Present, and Future
Host: Jerry Nolen
25 Nov 2016 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
2 Dec 2016 Pengwei Zhao, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Toward a unified description of the structure of nuclei
Host: Alessandro Lovato
9 Dec 2016 Cynthia Keppel, Jefferson Lab & Hampton University
Nuclear Physics in Proton Radiation Therapy
Host: Don Geesaman
16 Dec 2016
Physics Division Holiday Party - No colloquium
23 Dec 2016 Christmas - No colloquium
30 Dec 2016 New Year's - No colloquium
6 Jan 2017 Carmen Soriano Hoyuelos, Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory
TBA
Host: Bob Wiringa
13 Jan 2017 Abhay Deshpande, RIKEN BNL & Stony Brook University
Understanding the role and the dynamics of gluons in nucleons and nuclei: The science of the future Electron Ion Collider (EIC)
Host: Alessandro Lovato
20 Jan 2017 Augusto O. Macchiavelli, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
TBA
Host: Sahofei Zhu
27 Jan 2017 American Physical Society April Meeting 2017
Washington, D.C., 28-31 Jan
3 Feb 2017
10 Feb 2017
17 Feb 2017 Charles J. Horowitz, Indiana University
Greg Huber, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, UC Santa Barbara
TBA
Host: Whitney Armstrong
24 Feb 2017 Martin J. Savage, University of Washington & Institute for Nuclear Theory
TBA
Host: Alessandro Lovato
3 Mar 2017
10 Mar 2017 Wendy Freedman, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Richard Pardo
Thursday
16 Mar 2017
Christoph Düllmann, GSI & Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Superheavy elements: their production, nuclear and atomic properties, and how to go beyond Z=118
Host: Birger Back
24 Mar 2017
31 Mar 2017 Mark G. Raizen, University of Texas at Austin
TBA
Host: Matt Dietrich
7 Apr 2017
14 Apr 2017
21 Apr 2017
28 Apr 2017 Pierre Baldi, University of California in Irvine
TBA
Host: Stefan Wild
5 May 2017
12 May 2017
19 May 2017
26 May 2017

Click here for 2015-2016 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2016-2017 Committee


Whitney Armstrong (252-5112, warmstrong@anl.gov mail)
Jason Clark (Past Chair) (252-4035, jclark@anl.gov mail)
Zachary Conway (252-0874, zconway@phy.anl.gov mail)
Matthew Dietrich (252-0874, mdietrich@anl.gov mail)
Don Geesaman (252-4059, geesaman@anl.gov mail)
Olle Heinonen (MSD) (252-4877, heinonen@anl.gov mail)
Alessandro Lovato (Chair) (252-3626, lovato@anl.gov mail)
Richard Pardo (252-4029, pardo@anl.gov mail)
Ernst Rehm (252-4073, rehm@anl.gov mail)
Stefan Wild (MCS) (252-9948, wild@anl.gov mail)
Shaofei Zhu (252-4412, zhu@phy.anl.gov mail)
Secretary Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630