Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2019-2020 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

13 Sep 2019 Or Hen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Neutron star droplets and the quarks within
Host: Paul Reimer
27 Sep 2019 Reika Yokochi, University of Chicago
Radiokrypton unveils dual moisture sources of a deep desert aquifer
Host: Peter Mueller
4 Oct 2019 André de Gouvea, Northwestern University
Unveiling The Physics Behind Neutrino Masses
Host: Alessandro Lovato
11 Oct 2019 Robert Wiringa, Argonne Physics Division
Steven C. Pieper: Nuclear Physicist at the Computational Frontier
Host: Alessandro Lovato
Symposium in Honor of Steven C. Pieper
18 Oct 2019 2019 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Crystal City, VA 13-17 October
25 Oct 2019
10:30 am
APS Aud
Director's Special Colloquium
Donna Strickland, University of Waterloo
From Nonlinear Optics to High-Intensity Laser Physics
1 Nov 2019 John E. Carlstrom, University of Chicago
New Physics through Measurements of the Cosmic Microwave Background
Host: Lindsey Bleem
8 Nov 2019 Giuseppe Carleo, Flatiron Institute
Machine learning many-body quantum physics
Host: Alessandro Lovato
15 Nov 2019 Eric Hessels, York University
The proton size determined from a new measurement of the atomic hydrogen n=2 Lamb shift: Resolving the proton radius puzzle
Host: Peter Mueller
22 Nov 2019 Xiangdong Ji, University of Maryland
Exploring a quantum world traveling at the speed of light
Host: Zein-Eddine Meziani
28 Nov 2019 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
6 Dec 2019 Art McDonald, Queens University
Deep Underground Measurements in Fundamental Physics and Astrophysics
Host: Ian Cloët
20 Dec 2019 Lindy Blackburn, Harvard University
Black hole imaging with the Event Horizon Telescope
Host: Melina Avila
27 Dec 2019 Christmas - No colloquium
3 Jan 2019 New Year's - No colloquium
10 Jan 2020 Gordon Baym, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
The Electron-Ion Collider: the ultimate electron microscope
Host: Zein-Eddine Meziani
17 Jan 2020 Angela Olinto, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Paul Reimer
24 Jan 2020 Mark Caprio, University of Notre Dame
TBA
Host: Ian Cloët
31 Jan 2020 Salman Habib, Argonne Computational Science Division
TBA
Host: Alessandro Lovato
7 Feb 2020 Wendy Freedman, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Katrin Heitmann
14 Feb 2020 Luca Grandi, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Birger Back
21 Feb 2020 Paul Reimer, Argonne Physics Division
TBA
Host: Birger Back
28 Feb 2020
6 Mar 2020 Jonathan Engel, University of North Carolina
TBA
Host: Alessandro Lovato
13 Mar 2020 Yaniv Erlich, Columbia University
TBA
Host: Birger Back
20 Mar 2020
27 Mar 2020 Tyler Lyson, Denver Museum of Nature & Science
TBA
Host: Birger Back
3 Apr 2020 Frank Zimmerman, CERN
The FCC = π x The LHC
Host: Brahim Mustapha
10 Apr 2020 Junhong Chen, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Peter Mueller
17 Apr 2020 American Physical Society April Meeting 2020
Washington, D.C. 18-21 April
24 Apr 2020 Pierre Haenecour, University of Arizona
TBA
Host: Calem Hoffman
1 May 2020 Chen-Yu Liu, Indiana University
TBA
Host: Paul Reimer
8 May 2020 David W. Schmitz, University of Chicago
TBA
Host: Alessandro Lovato
15 May 2020 Peter Winter, Argonne High Energy Physics Division
TBA
Host: Katrin Heitmann
22 May 2020 Zhirong Huang, Stanford University & SLAC
LCLS-II Project and Future Plans
Host: Brahim Mustapha
29 May 2020
5 June 2020

Click here for 2018-2019 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2019-2020 Committee


Melina Avila Coronado (252-4060, mavila@anl.gov mail)
Birger Back (Chair) (252-3618, back@anl.gov mail)
Katrin Heitmann (PSE) (252-1114, heitmann@anl.gov mail)
Calem Hoffman (252-4053, crhoffman@anl.gov mail)
Alessandro Lovato (252-3626, lovato@anl.gov mail)
Zein-Eddine Meziani (Past Chair) (252-5226, zmeziani@anl.gov mail)
Peter Mueller (252-7267, pmueller@anl.gov mail)
Brahim Mustapha (252-5643, brahim@anl.gov mail)
Valentine Novosad (MSD) (252-5507, novosad@anl.gov mail)
Paul Reimer (252-4037, reimer@anl.gov mail)
Coordinator Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630