Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2015-2016 Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

11 Sep 2015 B. Alex Brown, Michigan State University
Double Beta Decay and the Nuclear Shell Model
Host: Richard Chasman
18 Sep 2015 Andrew Geraci, University of Nevada, Reno
Hunting for axions and new short-range gravitational forces using resonant sensors
Host: Jerry Nolen
25 Sep 2015 Bryce Littlejohn, Illinois Institute of Technology
Probing Mysteries In Particle Physics With Neutrino Oscillations
Host: Don Geesaman
2 Oct 2015 S. Mark Ammons, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Trails and Dead Bodies: Directly Characterizing Extrasolar Planets with Adaptive Optics
Host: Jerry Nolen
9 Oct 2015 Elena Rozhkova and Tijana Rajh, Center for Nanoscale Materials, Argonne National Laboratory
Cancer Nanotechnology: At the Interface of Engineered Nanomaterials and Living Systems
Host: Andreas Roelofs
16 Oct 2015 Steve Gourlay, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
High Field Magnets for a Future High Energy proton-proton Collider
Host: Rik Yoshida
23 Oct 2015 No colloquium
30 Oct 2015 2015 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Santa Fe, New Mexico, 28-31 Oct
6 Nov 2015 Bobby Kasthuri, Nanoscience and Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory
The BRAIN Initiative
Host: Andreas Roelofs
13 Nov 2015 Don Geesaman, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Reaching for the Horizon: The 2015 NSAC Long Range Plan
Host: Richard Chasman
20 Nov 2015 Jack Gilbert, Biosciences Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Invisible Influence: Exploring the human microbiome
Host: Richard Pardo
27 Nov 2015 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
4 Dec 2015 Gaute Hagen, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Advances in coupled‐cluster computations of nuclei
Host: Melina Avila Coronado
11 Dec 2015 Physics Division Holiday Party - No colloquium
18 Dec 2015
Olli Heinonen, Harvard University
Evolving International Nuclear Safeguards
Host: Dick Chasman
25 Dec 2015 Christmas - No colloquium
1 Jan 2016 New Year's - No colloquium
8 Jan 2016 Michael Levin, University of Chicago
The Puzzling Boundaries of Topological Quantum Matter
Host: Jason Clark
15 Jan 2016 Christopher M. Sorensen, Kansas State University
Of Soot and Sunflowers
Host: Jason Clark
22 Jan 2016 Michael P. Kelly, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
RF Superconductivity for Particle Accelerators: The Last 15 Years
Host: Richardo Pardo
29 Jan 2016 Klaus Schulten, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Towards an Atomic Level Description of a Living Cell - The Photosynthetic Chromatophore of Purple Bacteria, a Milestone
Host: Jason Clark
5 Feb 2016 Jeffrey W. Elam, Energy Systems Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Synthesis, Characterization, and Application of Tunable Resistance Coatings Prepared by Atomic Layer Deposition
Host: Jerry Nolen
12 Feb 2016 Cliff Frohlich, University of Texas
Human-caused earthquakes in Texas and the world: All alike, and all different
Host: Jason Clark
19 Feb 2016
26 Feb 2016
4 Mar 2016
11 Mar 2016 Suzanne Staggs, Princeton University
The Atacama Cosmology Telescope
Host: Salman Habib
18 Mar 2016
25 Mar 2016 Gabriella Sciolla, Brandeis University
Latest Results from the LHC
Host: Tom LeCompte
1 Apr 2016 Reserved
8 Apr 2016 John Madey, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Free Electron Lasers
Host: Jason Clark
15 Apr 2016 Francesco Iachello, Yale University
Clustering in Nuclei
Host: Dick Chasman
22 Apr 2016
29 Apr 2016 Vicky Kalogera, Northwestern University
Formation and evolution of compact astrophysical objects
Host: Melina Avila Coronado
6 May 2016 Leslie Rosenberg, University of Washington
ADMX axion experiment
Host: Birger Back
13 May 2016 Daryl Haggard, McGill University
Collision between "G2" and our local supermassive black hole
Host: Jason Clark
20 May 2016 Scott Dodelson, Fermilab and University of Chicago
TBD
Host: Don Geesaman
26-27 May 2016 Quantum Computing Symposium in Honor of Paul Benioff

Click here for 2014-2015 season

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2015-2016 Committee


Melina Avila Coronado (252-4060, mavila@anl.gov mail)
Birger Back (252-3618, back@anl.gov mail)
Jason Clark (Chair) (252-4035, jclark@anl.gov mail)
Richard Chasman (252-3614, chasman@anl.gov mail)
Don Geesaman (252-4059, geesaman@anl.gov mail)
Jerry Nolen (Past Chair) (252-6418, nolen@anl.gov mail)
Richard Pardo (252-4029, pardo@anl.gov mail)
Murray Peshkin (252-4061,peshkin@anl.gov mail)
Andreas Roelofs (NST) (252-2504, aroelofs@anl.gov mail)
Kenneth Teh (252-3073, teh@anl.gov mail)
Rik Yoshida (HEP) (252-7874, ryoshida@anl.gov mail)
Secretary Colleen Tobolic (252-3663, tobolic@anl.gov mail)
Web Guy Robert Wiringa (252-6134, wiringa@anl.gov mail)
Phone numbers are area code 630