Theory Seminar Schedule

Seminars are held in room B-221 of the Physics Building (203) at 3:00 pm.

Click on a title to read an abstract, if available (underlined).
Division Seminar: R-150 @ 3:30pm
14 April 2011
Stefano Gandolfi
Los Alamos National Laboratory
stefano@lanl.gov
Quantum Monte Carlo Study of Strongly Correlated Fermions: Neutron Matter, Neutron Stars and Cold Atoms
Division Seminar: R-150 @ 3:30pm
31 March 2011
Lucas Platter
Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg
platter@chalmers.se
Effective Field Theories for Nuclear Systems
Division Seminar: R-150 @ 3:30pm
17 February 2011
Alexandros Gezerlis
University of Washington
gezerlis@uw.edu
Bridging the Gap: Fermions in Nuclear Structure and Nuclear Astrophysics
Special Day: Tuesday
15 February 2011
Louis H. Kauffman
UIC
kauffman@uic.edu
Topological Quantum Information and the Jones Polynomial
Division Seminar: R-150 @ 3:30pm
10 February 2011
Joaquín Drut
Los Alamos National Laboratory
joaquindrut@gmail.com
The Unitary Fermi Gas and the Challenge of Simple Quantum Mechanics
20 January 2011 Jingyi Chao
Indiana University
jchao@ncsu.edu
Thermal Conductivity, from Quark Matter to Cold Atoms
Special Day: Tuesday
18 January 2011
Pok Man Lo
University of Pittsburgh
POL4@pitt.edu
Confinement Models at Finite Temperature and Density
6 January 2011 Xilin Zhang
Indiana University
xilzhang@umail.iu.edu
Weak Pion and Photon Production off Nucleons and Nuclei in a Chiral Effective Field Theory
16 December 2010 Ian Bentley
University of Notre Dame
ibentley@nd.edu
Investigations of the Nuclear Symmetry Energy (Wigner Energy) and Mapping of Fermionic to Bosonic Deformation Energy Surfaces
Special Day: Tuesday
14 December 2010
Qamar N. Usmani
University Malaysia Perlis, Malaysia
qnusmani@hotmail.com
Clustering at the nuclear surface and symmetry energy
2 December 2010 Stefano Gandolfi
LANL
stefano@lanl.gov
Quantum Monte Carlo study of strongly correlated Fermions: neutron matter and confined neutrons
18 November 2010 Paolo Armani
University of Trento and INFN
armani@science.unitn.it
Quantum Monte Carlo Calculations of Hypernuclei
28 October 2010 William Newton
Texas A&M Commerce
William_Newton@tamu-commerce.edu
The physics and observational consequences of the neutron star crust-core boundary layer
21 October 2010 Eric Swanson
University of Pittsburgh
swansone@pitt.edu
Confinement at Finite Temperature
14 October 2010 Gustavo Nobre
LLNL
nobre1@llnl.gov
Predictions for Nucleon-Nucleus Reactions: Benchmarks for Modern Structure Models
Special Day: Tuesday
21 September 2010
Andreas Ross
Argonne National Laboratory and U.Wisconsin at Madison
aross@physics.wisc.edu
Precision Gravity and Effective Field Theories
16 Sept. 2010 Satoshi Nakamura
Jefferson Lab
sxnakamura@gmail.com
Semi-leptonic weak processes in two-nucleon systems --- Impact on neutrino oscillation experiments and astrophysics ---
9 September 2010 Peter Tandy
Kent State University
tandy@kent.edu
QCD Dynamics and Meson Structure: Soft and Hard

Seminars of past years:


If you have questions or comments regarding this page, please contact David Chamulak.