Theory Seminars held in the year 2003-2004


Click on a title to read an abstract, if available (underlined).

22 June 2004
Special Date
Michael Bender
Argonne, Physics Division
mbender@phys.washington.edu
Properties of heavy nuclei from configuration mixing of symmetry-restored self-consistent mean-field states
17 June 2004 Ilya Narodetskii
ITEP, Moscow, Russia
naro@heron.itep.ru
Pentaquarks in the Jaffe-Wilczek approximation
20 May 2004 David Richards
Jefferson Laboratory, Newport News
dgr@jlab.org
Lattice QCD: Ab Initio Computations in Hadronic Physics
20 May 2004
Special Time: 10:30 am
Pieter Maris
University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh
pim6+@pitt.edu
Pseudo-scalar meson quark distributions within the Dyson-Schwinger approach
18 May 2004
Special Date
Alex Kalloniatis
CSSM, University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia
akalloni@physics.adelaide.edu.au
High energy behaviour and analytic confinement
13 May 2004 William Raphael Hix
University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge
raph@ornl.gov
Core Collapse Supernovae: Understanding the Deaths of Massive Stars
22 April 2004 Peter Blunden
Univ. of Manitoba, Canada
blunden@physics.umanitoba.ca
Two-photon exchange of electron-proton scattering
9 March 2004
Special Date
Harry Lipkin
Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
ftlipkin@weizmann.ac.il
What does the Pentaquark teach us about QCD and vice versa?
4 March 2004 Scott Bogner
INT, Univ. of Washington
bogner@phys.washington.edu
Towards Model Independent and Perturbative Shell Model Effective Interactions
26 February 2004 Jim Kneller
North Carolina State University
jim_kneller@ncsu.edu
The effects upon big-bang nucleosynthesis of variations in ΛQCD
24 February 2004
Special Date
Prashanth Jaikumar
McGill University, Montreal, Canada
jaikumar@rotule.physics.mcgill.ca
Neutrino Emission from Phases of Dense Matter in Compact Stars
17 February 2004
Special Date
Special Time: 10:30 am
Stewart V. Wright
University of Liverpool, UK
svwright@liv.ac.uk
Chiral PerturbationTheory, Models, and the Lattice: Different views, the same physics
10 February 2004
Special Date
Special Time: 10:30 am
Achim Schwenk
Ohio State University, Columbus
aschwenk@pacific.mps.ohio-state.edu
Effective interactions and pairing in nuclear systems
5 February 2004 Bonnie Todd-Rutel
Florida State University, Tallahassee
bonnie@godiva.physics.fsu.edu
RIA and Mean-field Theory: Drip Lines, Magic Numbers and More
29 January 2004 Andrew W. Steiner
University of Minnesota, Minneaplolis
stein@physics.umn.edu
Nuclear Astrophysics in Two Acts: r-Process Nucleosynthesis in Neutrino-Driven Winds and the Nuclear Symmetry Energy
27 January 2004
Special Date
Special Time: 11:00 am
Victor Flambaum
Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
flambaum@phys.unsw.edu.au
Do Fundamental Constants of Nature Vary With Time and Distance?
22 January 2004
Special Time:10:30
Brian Tiburzi
University of Washington, Seattle
bctiburz@u.washington.edu
Generalized parton distributions and double distributions
20 January 2004
Special Date
Jörg Jäckel
University of Heidelberg, Germany
jaeckel@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
Spontaneous Symmetry Breaking by the Condensation of Composites of Fermions
15 January 2004 Govind Krishnaswami
University of Rochester
govind@pas.rochester.edu
Proton Structure functions from large N QCD
18 December 2003 Bao-An Li
Arkansas State University
Bali@astate.edu
Probing the Equation of State of Dense Neutron-Rich Matter with High Energy Radioactive Beams at RIA
11 December 2003 Thomas Duguet
Argonne, Physics Division
duguet@phy.anl.gov
Bare vs effective pairing force. A microscopic pairing interaction for mean-field calculations of finite nuclei.
9 December 2003
Special Date
Bruno Julia Diaz
University of Helsinki, Finland
bruno.julia@helsinki.fi
Baryon Form Factors in Relativistic Constituent Quark Models
4 December 2003 Sebastian Schmidt
Helmholtz-Association, Bonn, Germany
Sebastian.Schmidt@helmholtz.de
The Helmholtz-Association and its reform process
25 November 2003
Special Date
Gouranga C. Nayak
nayak@th.physik.uni-frankfurt.de
Gluon Propagator and Magnetic Screening Mass at One Loop Level in Non-Equilibrium QCD
20 November 2003
Special Location: R-150
Gordon W. Drake
University of Windsor, Canada
gdrake@uwindsor.ca
Helium, Relativity and QED
18 November 2003
Special Date
Special Time: 10:30 am
Special Location: R-150
Xiangdong Ji
University of Maryland
xji@physics.umd.edu
Unravelling single spin asymmetry
14 November 2003
Special Date
Special Location: R-150
Paul-Henri Heenen
Service de Physique Nucleaire, Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
phheenen@ulb.ac.be
Why and how to go beyond the mean-field method. Applications to neutron deficient Pb isotopes
28 October 2003
Special time: 1:30 pm
Special Location: R-150
Andreas S. Kronfeld
Fermilab
ask@fnal.gov
High Precision Lattice QCD Confronts Experiment
26 August 2003
Special time: 11:00 am
Masayuki Matsuo
Niigata University, Japan
matsuo@nt.sc.niigata-u.ac.jp
Collective Excitations in Drip-Line Nuclei: Pairing Correlation and Continuum Response
20 August 2003 Asmita Mukherjee
Dortmund University, Germany
asmita@physik.uni-dortmund.de
GPD s in Light-Front Hamiltonian QCD
14 August 2003 Rajdeep Chatterjee
Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Calcutta, India
raja@theory.saha.ernet.in
Coulomb and nuclear breakup of halo nuclei

Theory Home Page