Physics Division Colloquium

Auditorium, Building 203, Argonne National Laboratory

Fridays at 11:00 AM

2007-2008 Leap Year Program

Please contact the host if you wish to arrange a discussion with the speaker.

7 Sep 2007 Brian W. Fitzpatrick, Google Inc.
Google: Building Scalable Systems and Moving Large Datasets
Host: John Arrington
14 Sep 2007 Xiangdong Ji, University of Maryland
Exploring the Partonic Structure of the Nucleon
Host: Harry Lee
21 Sep 2007 John P. Schiffer, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Perspectives on Nuclear Physics over the Past 100 Years
Host: Harry Lee
28 Sep 2007 Mike Norman, Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
High-Temperature Superconductivity - After 20 Years, Where Are We At?
Host: John Schiffer
5 Oct 2007 Serge Haroche, Collège de France & École Normale Supérieure
Quantum Non-Demolition Measurement of Light: The Birth, Life and Death of Trapped Photons
Host: Zheng-Tian Lu
12 Oct 2007 Fall DNP Meeting, Newport News, VA, 10-13 Oct
19 Oct 2007 Open
26 Oct 2007 Elena Aprile, Columbia University
The XENON Dark Matter Search
Host: Kim Lister
2 Nov 2007 Cancelled
9 Nov 2007 David S. Weiss, Penn State University
Experiments with Atoms in One and Zero Dimensions
Host: John Schiffer
16 Nov 2007 Peter Mueller, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Simple Atoms, Extreme Nuclei: Laser Spectroscopy of 6He and 8He
Host: Zheng-Tian Lu
23 Nov 2007 Thanksgiving - No colloquium
30 Nov 2007 Cancelled
7 Dec 2007 Chia-Ling Chien, Johns Hopkins University
Nanomagnets: Poles or no Poles
Host: Harry Lee
14 Dec 2007 Cancelled
21 Dec 2007 Christmas Eve - No colloquium
28 Dec 2007 New Year's Eve - No colloquium
4 Jan 2008 Robert V. F. Janssens, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
The Hunt for New Shell Structure in Neutron-Rich Nuclei
Host: Harry Lee
11 Jan 2008 Wim Leemans, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
High-Energy Particle Accelerators that Can Fit on a (Large) Tabletop by Using Lasers
Host: Richard Pardo
18 Jan 2008 Barry Wicklund, High Energy Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Flavor Physics and The Strange Beauty Clock
Host: Ed Berger
25 Jan 2008 Phillip J. Finck, Idaho National Laboratory
Overview of Nuclear Technologies
Host: Filip Kondev
1 Feb 2008 Kenneth M. Nollett, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Nuclear Astrophysics
Host: Harry Lee
8 Feb 2008 Peter G. O. Freund, University of Chicago
A Passion for Discovery
Host: John Schiffer
15 Feb 2008 Abhay Ashtekar, Penn State University
Gravity, Geometry and the Quantum
Host: Harry Lee
22 Feb 2008 Tom LeCompte, High Energy Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Standard Model Physics at the LHC
Host: Ed Berger
29 Feb 2008 Savdeep Sethi, University of Chicago
Superstring Theory Made Simple
Host: John Schiffer
7 Mar 2008 Lloyd Knox, University of California at Davis
Dark Energy
Host: John Arrington
14 Mar 2008 Folker Meyer, Mathematics & Computer Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
DNA Sequencing
Host: Harry Lee
21 Mar 2008 Henry Kapteyn, JILA and University of Colorado
Attosecond Optics
Host: Zheng-Tian Lu
28 Mar 2007 Bradley L. Jolliff, Washington University
Mars Exploration Rovers: Two Mars Years of Geologic Discovery
Host: Richard Pardo
4 Apr 2008 Anneli Munkholm, Philips Lumileds Lighting Company
High Power LED's
Host: John Arrington
11 Apr 2008 Spring APS Meeting, St. Louis, MO, 12-15 Apr
18 Apr 2008 Joe Lykken, Fermilab National Accelerator Laboratory
Extra Dimensions at the Large Hadron Collider
Host: Ed Berger
25 Apr 2008 Open
2 May 2008 Open
9 May 2008 Andy Sandorfi, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Novel Physics with Solid Polarized Hydrogen
Host: Harry Lee
16 May 2008 Walter Henning, Physics Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Physics with RIA
Host: Harry Lee
23 May 2008 Steve Lamoreaux, Yale University
Casimir Forces
Host: Zheng-Tian Lu

Click here for summaries of previous seasons

2007-2008 Committee

John Arrington (252-3619, mail)
Ed Berger (HEP) (252-6211, mail)
Filip Kondev (NE) (252-4484, mail)
Torben Lauritsen (252-4026, mail)
T.-S. Harry Lee, chair (252-4094, mail)
C. J. (Kim) Lister (252-4040, mail)
Zheng-Tian Lu, past chair (252-0583, mail)
Richard Pardo (252-4029, mail)
John Schiffer (252-4066, mail)
Secretary Janet Bergman (252-4085, mail)
Phone numbers are areacode 630


University of Chicago Physics Department Colloquia
University of Illinois at Chicago Physics Department Colloquia
Northwestern University Physics and Astronomy Colloquia
Fermilab Colloquia


ANL Physics Division

Web page comments to: Bob Wiringa: